Pursue your research dreams for three months

2015 Sanger Institute Prize Competition

Applications are now closed.

The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute is a world leader in genomic research and provides an excellent environment for aspiring scientists to begin to realise their research ambitions.

The winner of the Sanger Institute Prize will be offered a three month internship with a research group at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute during 2015. Travel, living and research expenses are all covered by the award.

[Sushovan Dam, Prize Winner 2013]


" The outstanding and unparalleled research environment at Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute is highly conducive for scientific progress. Working here as a Sanger Prize winner allowed me to be a part of this atmosphere and I also got immense opportunities to connect with world leading scientists from diverse fields of biomedicine.

The perfect blend of experimental and genomic approach for solving scientific questions has provided me with new perspectives which I believe will help me lifelong in my scientific endeavours. At the same time living in the majestic city of Cambridge for 12 weeks adds up to this wonderful experience. "

Sushovan Dam, Prize Winner 2013

The Sanger Institute Prize is an outreach prize for undergraduate students from low and middle income countries. Please check the list of eligible countries on the second tab. To be eligible to apply, applicants must also be studying at a University/Institute in a low/middle income country. The Sanger Prize is an opportunity to experience the very cutting edge of genomic research. Students should be able to demonstrate an active interest in research in the genomics field and have a good command of english.

The 2015 competition will be run as a two stage process.

Stage one: expression of interest

The expression of interest should consist of:

In the first stage applicants are asked to apply online. Applicants will be asked to provide details such as where they are studying, a short expression of interest and a CV.'

Only applications made via the online application system will be accepted. Entries should be submitted online by 5pm UK GMT, 1st December 2014.

Stage two: essay

Selected candidates will then be asked to take part in stage two of the process, which is to write an essay with a given title.

The judges' decision will be final and no further correspondence will be entered into.

Eligible countries

Low income economies
Afghanistan Gambia, The Nepal
Bangladesh Guinea Niger
Benin Guinea-Bisau Rwanda
Burkina Faso Haiti Sierra Leone
Burundi Kenya Somalia
Cambodia Korea, Dem Rep. Tajikistan
Central African Republic Liberia Tanzania
Chad Madagascar Togo
Comoros Malawi Uganda
Congo, Dem. Rep Mali Zimbabwe
Eritrea Mozambique
Ethiopia Myanmar
Lower-middle-income economies
Armenia Kiribati São Tomé and Principe
Bhutan Kosovo Senegal
Bolivia Kyrgyz Republic Solomon Islands
Cameroon Lao PDR South Sudan
Cape Verde Lesotho Sri Lanka
Congo, Rep. Mauritania Sudan
Côte d'Ivoire Micronesia, Fed. Sts. Swaziland
Djibouti Moldova Syrian Arab Republic
Egypt, Arab Rep. Mongolia Timor-Leste
El Salvador Morocco Ukraine
Georgia Nicaragua Uzbekistan
Ghana Nigeria Vanuatu
Guatemala Pakistan Vietnam
Guyana Papua New Guinea West Bank and Gaza
Honduras Paraguay Yemen, Rep.
Indonesia Philippines Zambia
India Samoa
Upper-middle-income economies
Albania Fiji Palau
Algeria Gabon Panama
American Samoa Grenada Peru
Angolia Hungary Romania
Azerbaijan Iran, Islamic Rep. Serbia
Argentina Iraq Seychelles
Belarus Jamaica South Africa
Belize Jordan St Lucia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Kazakhstan St Vincent and the Grenadines
Botswana Lebanon Suriname
Brazil Libya Thailand
Bulgaria Macedonia, FYR Tonga
China Malaysia Tunisia
Colombia Maldives Turkey
Cuba Mauritius Turkmenistan
Costa Rica Marshal Islands Tuvula
Dominica Mexico Venezuela, RB
Dominican Republic Montenegro
Ecuador Namibia

Source: The World Bank "Country and lending groups" (2012)

* quick link - http://q.sanger.ac.uk/vk5hjzeu