The Sanger Institute Board of Management

The Sanger Institute’s Board of Management (BoM) includes the Heads of the five Science Programmes, the Chief Operating Officer, the Director of Scientific Operations, the Head of Finance, the Head of HR and a representative from Wellcome. There are also two observers.

The Board of Management is responsible for advising and supporting the Director in his management responsibilities. Specifically it ensures that the Institute’s science is delivered according to its research plans through effective leadership, management and oversight. The BoM has delegated authority from the GRL Executive and its members are as below:

Mike Stratton – Director

Mike is Director of the Sanger Institute and Chair of the Board of Management.
Mike’s Director Page

Martin Dougherty – Chief Operating Officer

Martin’s profile

Peter Campbell – Head of Cancer, Ageing and Somatic Mutation Programme

Peter’s profile
Cancer, Ageing and Somatic Mutation Programme

Sarah Teichmann – Head of Cellular Genetics

Sarah’s profile
Cellular Genetics Programme

Matt Hurles – Head of Human Genetics Programme

Matt’s Profile
Human Genetics Programme

Dominic Kwiatkowski – Head of Parasites and Microbes Programme

Dominic’s profile
Parasites and Microbes Programme

Cordelia Langford – Director of Scientific Operations

Cordelia’s profile
Scientific Operations

Maggie Payne – Chief Financial Officer

Maggie Payne is the Chief Financial Officer for the Sanger Institute, Connecting Science and the Wellcome Genome Campus.

Charlie Weatherhogg – Director of Human Resources

Charlie Weatherhogg is Director of Human Resources for the Sanger Institute, Connecting Science and the Wellcome Genome Campus.

Board Observers

Michael Dunn – Head of Genetics and Molecular Sciences, Wellcome

Michael Dunn is the Wellcome representative on the Sanger Institute’s Board of Management.

Julia Wilson – Associate Director

Julia’s profile